oDesk Skills Test: Microsoft Excel

I took the Microsoft Excel 2007 test at oDesk, thinking I would pass it with flying colors.  I was wrong. It was harder than I thought.

The result, FAILED!

oDesk Excel 2007 Test

oDesk Excel 2007 Test Results

I am not proud of it. It is not something you brag about. But I have this need to blog about it. Familiarity breeds complacency. That’s what happened to me.

I thought I knew MS Excel since I have been using it for almost 15 years. I had done many things with MS Excel, from the simple, like creating tables and charts; to the complex, like managing large database. I even used Excel in designing a survey questionnaire; and that was not an easy task either.

Looking on the bright side, I have a chance to improve myself. Taking a test is not only about achieving a high score. We take a skills test so that we could gauge our current skill level. My oDesk test results below shows the percentage of correct answers by topics.

oDesk Excel 2007 Test Results by Topic

oDesk Excel 2007 Test Results by Topic

From here, I could see what my weak areas are. This gives me direction where I need to work on. It turns out; I do have a lot to learn. There are still a lot of topics and features  in MS Excel that I don’t know about.

Good thing oDesk allows you to retake a test.  My rematch with MS Excel is on May 23, 2012.  I’ll be back with a vengeance!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and
    I’m impressed! Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Reply

  2. Thanks. I am glad that you find the blog post very useful. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

